Veni, Sancte Spiritus
A Sequence

Home Page

The sequence is a sort of hymn but in no regular rhythm.  It is said or sung before the gospel of certain Masses.  The Roman Missal now contains only five sequences for certain Masses: for Easter (Victimae paschali), Pentecost (Veni Sancte Spiritus), Corpus Christi (Lauda Sion), the Seven Sorrows of our Lady (Stabat Mater), and requiem Masses (Dies Irae).  Certain religious orders have special sequences.  These hymns originated in the 10th century in the fitting of words to the long-drawn-out series of notes which were sung on the final syllable of the last alleluia before the gospel is read.  They were called sequence because they followed this alleluia.

Come, Holy Spirit, come!  And from your celestial home
Shed a ray of light divine!  Come, Father of the poor!
Come, source of all our store!  Come, within our bosoms shine.

You, of comforters the best;  You, the soul's most welcome guest;
Sweet refreshment here below;  In our labor, rest most sweet;
Grateful Coolness in the heat;  Solace in the midst of woe.

O most blessed Light divine,  Shine within these hearts of Thine,
And our inmost being fill!  Where you are not, we have naught,
Nothing good in deed or thought,  Nothing free from taint of ill.

Heal our wounds, our strength renew;  On our dryness pour your dew;
Wash the stains of guilt away:  Bend the stubborn heart and will;
Melt the frozen, warm the chill;  Guide the steps that go astray.

On the faithful, who adore And confess you, evermore
In your seven fold gift descend;  Give them virtue's sure reward;
Give them your salvation, Lord;  Give them joys that never end.
Amen.  Alleluia.

Home Page