Victimae paschali laudes
A Sequence

Index A Priest Speaks
Return - Cycle C Homilies
Home Page

The sequence is a sort of hymn but in no regular rhythm.  It is said or sung before the gospel of certain Masses.  The Roman Missal now contains only five sequences for certain Masses: for Easter (Victimae paschali), Pentecost (Veni Sancte Spiritus), Corpus Christi (Lauda Sion), the Seven Sorrows of our Lady (Stabat Mater), and requiem Masses (Dies Irae).  Certain religious orders have special sequences.  These hymns originated in the 10th century in the fitting of words to the long-drawn-out series of notes which were sung on the final syllable of the last alleluia before the gospel is read.  They were called sequence because they followed this alleluia.

Christians, to the Paschal Victim offer your thankful praises!
A Lamb the sheep redeems; Christ, who only is sinless,
Reconciles sinners to the Father.  Death and life have contended
in that combat stupendous: the Prince of life, who died, reigns immortal.

Speak, Mary, declaring what you saw, wayfaring.
"The tomb of Christ, who is living, The glory of Jesus' resurrection;
Bright angels attesting, The shroud and napkin resting.
Yes, Christ my hope is arisen; To Galilee he goes before you."

Christ indeed from death is risen, our new life obtaining.
Have mercy, victor King, ever reigning!

Amen.  Alleluia.

Index A Priest Speaks
Return - Cycle C Homilies
Home Page